Take Care of Your Crown

beautyHair, the detail on you which makes the first impression when you meet someone. Whether it be long or short, blonde or black, natural or relaxed, course or silky it is very important to take good care of your hair.

My hair and I have been through a rollercoaster of a relationship. I have dyed it, cut it, relaxed it and in some cases neglected it resulting it to become brittle and weak. However, I have made many discoveries about what’s good and bad for your hair in general. First of all I have stopped using any processed hair products and stuck to purely natural products which are safe for my hair. I don’t use hair food on my hair because it creates a build up in my hair, clogging it and preventing it from growing, leading it to breakage.

When it comes to treating my hair I use the Dark and Lovely treatment products at my local salon and I usually treat my hair every three months. Sometimes every second month I like to deep condition my hair, which means applying a hair mask. My current favourite hair mask product is called Amla Legend from the Dark and Lovely range. The product has a lovely scent and after using it, my hair always looks and feels ten times better leaving it bouncy, soft and shiny. On a weekly basis I wash my hair with Organics Hair Anti-Dandruff shampoo. It helps keep my scalp from being dry preventing it from the effect of dandruff. After washing my hair I moisturise it by applying coconut oil from the scalp right to the roots, then spray it with sheen oil just to give it that extra shine. Another product which I love to use on my hair is the MPL – Coconut Oil to keep my hair moisturised and hydrated preventing it from dandruff and breakage.

You’re probably wondering, what is up with everyone’s obsession with coconut oil? Well coconut oil in simple English is great for EVERYTHING!  Coconut is perfect for all types of hair. One of the great things of coconut oil is that it can be used in different forms whether as a moisturiser, shampoo or even a hair mask. And I have shared one of the secrets to using coconut oil for your hair by making your own coconut hair mask.

Home-made coconut hair mask

Ingredients

1 – 2 teaspoons of coconut oil, depending on the length of your hair.

1 – 2 teaspoons of olive oil, depending on the length of your hair.

Directions

Mix the coconut oil and olive oil together until they have blended and mixed well. Then massage the mask into your hair from scalp to the roots of your hair. Leave the mask in your hair for 30 – 45 minutes (wear a shower cap to keep the heat in, so the mask can work at its full potential). Afterwards be sure to wash your hair with COLD water, hot water destroys all the vital moisturising minerals and vitamins in your hair, but lukewarm water is also alright.

Other great oils which I would definitely suggest you try for your hair include Argan oil, Olive oil, Jojoba oil and Castor oil no matter what type of hair you have. Try using natural oils for your hair rather than processed hair food products, because unnatural oils are never good for the hair it is what  causes it to become brittle and weak.

Argan oil serves as a natural sunscreen protector for the hair from harmful sun-rays and also promotes hair growth. While Olive oil is great as a hair moisturiser, the vitamin E in the oil ensure that your hair says hydrated at all times.

According to some hair experts the oils that are produced by the Jojoba plant are very close to the natural oils that our hair produces. Therefore using Jojoba oil in your hair contains great advantages for enhancing the natural oil production in your hair for better hair results. Castor oil is also great for the scalp, as it stimulates and protects the scalp.

I highly recommend you stay away from hair products which contain petroleum oil/mineral and isopropyl alcohol. Petroleum oil/mineral oil creates a coating over the hair absorbing its natural oils and minerals preventing it from regrowth. Products which contain isopropyl alcohol break your hair causing it to fall out.

I have asked some amazing lifestyle bloggers to share some of their favourite hair products and hair tips to help you with treating that crown on your head. Be sure to also check out their blogs and amazing Instragram feeds.

Nokubonga Thusi (@londam_holland) is an online fashion and beauty blogger, she is the founder of the blog ‘The Londam Holland’ (www.londamholland.com) do check out her amazing and fresh blog.

What are your three favourite hair products?

I love hair products with natural ingredients these days that will not harm my hair but will add tons of moisture and manageability. Kiehl’s Olive Fruit Oil Deeply Repairative Hair Pak: best conditioner for my hair! Makes my hair soft and easy to blow dry after shampooing. Suki Suki Naturals Miraculous Oil: the dropper helps to really target the product to the scalp when basing. Great for when I have braids and need to keep my hair moisturised. Black Pearl by Pearl Thusi Enhanced Moisture Conditioning Moisturiser: great for natural hair or when I’m fighting growth, it softens and de-tangles the hair making brushing ten times easier.

What would you say is your favourite hair brand and why?

I love Mizani at the moment because they cater to all hair types for women of color and really have great hair care philosophies behind their products. They also have a professional range which is amazing!

A hair tip or secret you would love to share with us?

My best hair care tip I think is to invest in your hair. Take time to care for it and be gentle  Even if you do braiding, weaves or go natural; your hair comes first. Moisture, moisture, moisture! Guard against your hair from breaking due to being brittle with great conditioners, coconut oil and masks.


Cayleigh James (@styleandsubstance_blog) is an online influencer and blogger based in Adelaide, Australia. Her blog is currently under construction, but check out her flawless and minimalist Instragram page to see what you can expect from her future blog.

What are your three favourite hair products?

Hello Hair Hydration Mask, Redken Satinwear 02 heat styling (heat protectant). And Evo Shampoo and Conditioner OR Pureology Shampoo and Conditioner, I can’t really choose my favourite between these two because they are both great products.

What would you say is your favourite hair brand and why?

I’m currently loving ‘Evo’ which is a local brand here in Adelaide. It is cruelty free and also free from preservatives such as parabens. Since I’m becoming more and more health conscious, the ingredients of products is becoming more and more important to me. Which is why Pureology is another great health conscious brand for shampoo and conditioner, I particularly love their blonde shampoo because it keeps my hair from going brassy. 

A hair tip or secret you would love to share with us?

This is a strange one, but I sleep on a silk pillow case because it helps keep my hair from being tangled and also keeps it straight if I have straightened it! Another tip, is if my hair is dirty and I don’t have time to wash it, I’ll just wash my fringe/ front section and wear it in a pony tail!


Abongwe Qokela (@iamabongwe) is a South African lifestyle blogger and is the founder of the blog ‘Disco Stray Jacket’ ( http://www.discostrayjacket.com) check out her blog for amazing photography stories and eye-catching photographs.

What are your three favourite hair products?

 I use Crede Organic Coconut Oil on my hair. This is usually to base my scalp, to treat it before a wash and also during washes. My hair tangles very easily and as a result I have started using Aunt Jackie’s knot on my watch (instant detangling therapy) you can get this from Clicks. I also wash my hair with Jamaican Mango& Lime shampoo which you can get from Clicks as well. 

What would you say is your favourite hair brand and why?

Crede organic Coconut oil is my absolute favourite. It has many uses and my hair really takes well to it. 

A hair tip or secret you would love to share with us?

Your braids don’t have to be too tight. People like tight hair styles but those really mess up your hair. Also Coconut oil is your friend. But I’ve recently started adding Castor oil to my Coconut oil for better hair results.


Okay, so I hope you’ve had enjoyed reading this post, just as much as I have enjoyed writing it and putting it together. I hope you have learnt a few new things for your hair not only from me, but from the lovely ladies who were so willing to share the hair secrets and favourite hair products with you all. Do feel free to ask me, Nokubonga, Cayleigh or Abongwe any questions that you may have regarding hair.

all things nzurifinal1

Leave a Reply

