Quick Beauty Tips To Add To Your Makeup Routine

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Some of my favourite make-up (MAC foundation, Modern Muse by Estee Lauder, Catrice Eyeshadow and Estee Lauder limited highlighter)

Nothing is more frustrating than realising you’ve only got 30 minutes until you’re suppose to be at work or at your next lecture leaving you with only 15 minutes to do your make-up. So during the week I opt for a more natural and less look with medium coverage on my face, because I just never have enough time to apply a full face of make-up.

So here are my go-to makeup products that I use and some tips to help you enhance your makeup so you look extra flawless.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Tea Tree Flawless BB Cream from The Bodyshop and MAC Studio Fix (NW45).

Tea Tree Flawless BB Cream and MAC Studio Fix Powder – During the week I use my BB (Blemish Balm) Cream from The Bodyshop which is perfect for when I don’t need a lot of coverage. Finding the perfect BB Cream for my complexion was a mission at first and if you’re a woman with a darker complexion do check out the BB Creams at The Bodyshop. I use my MAC studio fix powder for an extra medium coverage, it leaves my face looking fresh and natural without having too much coverage.

Tips: When applying liquid make-up without a sponge or brush I would recommend you dabbing it using your ring finger. It is the weakest finger, so it does not apply too much pressure. On some days if I’m functioning on two hours of sleep I will mix my  BB cream with my concealer and eye cream on the back of my hand and dab it under my eyes using my ring finger. And  just like that the puffiness is gone!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Kangol Wild Length Lashes and Essence Eye Pencil

Mascara and Eyeliner – My favourite mascaras are from Estée Lauder and Kangol. At the moment I’m currently out of the Estée Lauder mascara. So I’m only using my Kangol one. Since I’m currently using one mascara, I apply two coats of mascara on both my top and bottom eyelids. Before applying my mascara I use an eyeliner pencil from Essence for the bottom of my eyelid.

Tips: NEVER pump the wand of your mascara it makes clumpy, instead move it around in circular motion to get desired amount. I sometimes like to wipe my wand before I apply the mascara just to remove the excess mascara to prevent having stuck-together, clumpy lashes. Make sure to apply your mascara in a zig-zag motion, do not apply mascara in a singular motion because once again it will leave you with thick, lumpy lashes.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Essence XXL Nude lipgloss, Estee Lauder lipgloss, Estee Lauder Long Lasting lipstick and Dexe lipbalm.

Lipstick/Lipgloss – I prefer subtle, nude colours on my lips. I love lipgloss, but when I don’t want shiny lips I will apply my long lasting Estée Lauder lipstick. For moisturising purposes I always carry my Dexe lipbalm everywhere with me, chappy and dry lips are not a sexy look.

Tip: Create your own lip scrub to prevent your lips from being peeling this Winter. Just mix some brown sugar with a teaspoon of honey and olive oil/coconut oil and rub it over your lips. Yes, your lips also need some tender, loving, care.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Elie Saab le perfum and Modern Muse by Estee Lauder.

Find your signature perfume – My favourite perfume of all times will forever be Elie Saab. Elie Saab perfum is just great, that’s all I can honestly say. Another soon-to-be favourite of mine is definitely “Modern Muse” by Estée Lauder I love the sensual and pleasant smell of the fragrance with only one spray lasting you the whole day.

Tip: To make your perfume last longer always spray it on your pulse points, so that is on the inside of your wrists, by your neck and behind your ears. I also like spray perfume in my hair so when I walk past I leave behind a scent and also, because it lasts longer.


So what is the ‘it’ makeup look for this A/W season? I have asked two beautiful and talented creatives and bloggers Kamogele Mafokwane and Cynthia Gwebu to give us their thoughts on what they think are the latest DL beauty trends. They also shared their best beauty secrets that keep them glowing all year long, so we can also look just as flawless as them. Check out their blogs and Instagram pages to get the latest about these two amazing ladies, I promise you, you will not be disappointed.


KAMOGELE MAFOKWANE – is a South African blogger and content creator who currently stays in London. She is busy completing her last year in her studies at the prestigious London College of Fashion. Her blog is definitely one of my favourites, it is a refreshing and absolutely exquisite.

BLOG: WILLKATELADY

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 01.21.34

Images taken from Kamogele Mafokwane’s Instagram page.

Which is your favourite between lipstick, lipgloss, lip balm or lip liner?

I definitely love Matte Liquid Lipsticks!

What is your secret to making your lipstick or lip gloss last longer?

I would suggest that you use a lip liner underneath to make it last longer than it usually would.

What is your favourite make-up brand? And why?

I have always loved MAC because their products are beautiful on the face and easy to use. However, I recently I have started using different products because I think a makeup brand can’t be amazing at every single product, right? So Gerard Cosmetics and NYX for lipsticks, MAC for foundation and eyeshadows, Catrice for mascara and L’oreal for liquid liner the list is endless.

What are your favourite makeup/beauty trends for this Autumn/Winter season?

I love the brown shadowed eye or a no liner look with loads of mascara, and lastly the vamp lipstick look is definitely become a favourite trend for me.

What is your daily skin care routine?

Every morning, I wash, tone, use serum and moisturiser with sun protection. I also love using The Bodyshop’s body butter for my body, it definitely makes your skin super soft.

Tips to share on how to keep the skin looking extra flawless this Winter? 

Keep moisturised, wear sun block (never take that for granted) even though it’s cold, the sun can be quiet harsh. Lastly, avoid using loads of powders, sometimes winter can make your skin dry, so a little dewy skin can look great in the cold.


CYNTHIA GWEBU – Is an ex-beauty editor and now full-time beauty blogger and vlogger originally born in Zimbabwe, she now lives in Cape Town. She holds a BA degree from UCT and also completed a postgraduate course at the London College of Fashion. Coming across her YouTube channel was probably one of the best things that YouTube has even done for me.

BLOG: ESTRE LAEVRA

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 01.22.32

Images taken from Cynthia Gwebu’s Instagram page

Which is your favourite between lipstick, lipgloss, lip balm or lip liner?

My favourite would have to be lip liner. They can double up as a “matte lipstick” and have a better chance of lasting all day.

What is your secret to making your lipstick or lip gloss last longer?

The trick is to apply a lip liner all over your lips before hand. This way your lipstick has something to adhere to.

What is your favourite make-up brand? And why?

This is a tough one because I don’t just have one. I love different brands for different things. MAC for their lipsticks and eyeshadows, Lancôme for their mascaras, Estée Lauder for their foundations and Ingot for their pigments. The list just goes on!

What are your favourite make-up/beauty trends for this Autumn/Winter season?

Definitely dewy skin. I’m quite over the matte makeup look. These days girls are walking out of their house looking dull and dead – it’s time to change that. A big trend on the runway is skin. It should glow, be luminous and basically look healthy. This A/W, find a foundation that will do that.

What is your daily skin care routine?

My morning and evening is quite different as evening time require a bit more cleansing, however, in the mornings I cleanse with a gentle face wash, tone and apply a serum. This for me  is the most important part as serums have the longest time to penetrate into the skin. In the mornings I use the Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate while my underage area uses the Lancôme Youth Activating Concentrate Eye Illuminator – it de-puffs bagginess and illuminates. Then a moisturise with a hydrating day cream and I love The Body Shop Vitamin C Day Cream and then I finish off with a sunscreen.

Tips to share on how to keep the skin looking extra flawless this Winter? 

Drink water! Its not rocket science to achieve amazing skin. A lot of it has to do with what we’re putting into our bodies. Drink 2 litres everyday and half the job is already done!

Don’t to subscribe via email or follow me on my various social media platforms to get the latest posts and content.

all things nzurifinal1

7 thoughts on “Quick Beauty Tips To Add To Your Makeup Routine

Leave a Reply

