My Internship Experience & Tips For You

First of all I would like to apologise for my sudden absence from blogging. I was in Cape Town for a short while working and learning under the amazing team of Marie Claire South Africa, and it was definitely one of the best experiences of my life, so far. Even though I was in the beautiful city for work related reasons I did manage to sneak in some fun and luxury time which I will share with you later this week.

IMG_6636.jpg

Picture via WeHeartIt.

I thought I would share my experience with you first and also give you some tips on how to get the most experience out of your internship. It is not always easy entering a workplace as the new-bee especially when you’re fresh out of university with little experience, but internships are an opportunity to build your experience and help you network with people in your industry.

So you can imagine how nervous I was about being part of the Marie Claire team for two weeks working alongside well-respected writers and under the influence of one of my favourite editors, Jackie May. Walking into the offices I was greeted by a wall filled with some of the most glamourous and stunning covers by Marie Claire.

When I walked into the Marie Claire offices all the ladies were glued to their screens, but the moment they realised that the intern had arrivedΒ they were all so friendly and welcoming which helped calm down my nerves, but the moment I was greeted by the editor I was so starstruck that I was tripping all over my words during our short but lively conversation. Shortly after meeting everyone, I was handed my first task of doing some designing for the September issue. They were all so willing to help me learn whenever I asked questions, and even the work they gave me did not feel tedious. Being part of Marie Claire team for those two weeks, definitely gave me confirmation that the magazine industry is exactly where I want to be.

During my time there I was given many other amazing opportunities to learn and understand the magazine industry, in particular Marie Claire’s magazine. I got to help design some layouts for the magazine and got to understand the process of what goes into designing the fancy beauty and trend pages that we all love paging through. I had the opportunity to even write articles for the online version of the magazine and learned the ins and outs of working online and it is definitely different from print. I even got to be part of an actual shoot! My goodness the work and time that goes into producing those beautiful shoots is definitely worthwhile. I loved every moment of this from watching the fashion assistants styling the models, to getting the chance to help with interviewing some amazing people, every moment of being in the studio was just mesmerising.

Everyday I learned and discovered something new about the magazine industry. I even got to see the some of the latest stories and covers for upcoming issues. I wish I could share some details with you, but I can’t so you’ll have to wait and see and of cause buy the magazine. My only regret about my whole experience is that I couldn’t stay longer, the academic life of university is always getting in my way.

Tips to get the most out of your internship

  1. Always try be on time, be punctual and early, people shouldn’t have to wait for you. Plus it shows that you’re a committed and interested person to your co-workers.
  2. Ask, ask and ask! Don’t be scared to ask questions, you are there to learn and everyone is there to help you learn.
  3. Meet your co-workers, try to get in contact with your co-workers and understand their work of area, it will help you learn about the various departments.
  4. Prove yourself as being a trustworthy and loyal person. So pay close attention to instructions also any work that you’re given you should always do to the best of your ability.
  5. For everything you do, ask for feedback it will show that you are really interested in learning and do expect to be criticised. The feedback you receive use it to help you to be better in your career.

These are few of my secret tips to help you ace that internship and hopefully get you crowned as the best intern ever. So if you have any other questions, feel free to email me or leave me a comment below, I will try answer you to the best of my ability.

all things nzurifinal1

 

 

One thought on “My Internship Experience & Tips For You

Leave a Reply

