Winter Skincare Routine And Tips

A change of season often leads to the change of doing things from the way you dress, to the activities you do and to how you treat your skin. Winter days mean making sure that you keep the skin and face hydrated at all times. I know Winter is almost coming to an end and I should have shared this secrets way before, but it’s never too late. Winter will be back again next year and these tips will still be very much relevant.

My skin type is what I would consider  being a combination/normal. Meaning it is both oily and dry, so because of the cold it means on some areas, in particular my face I need to moisturise it more than I would during the dewy Summer days.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

African Extracts Rooibos Purifying Products: Dual-action moisturiser, Toner and 3-in-1 Wash, Scrub and Mask.

Typically during Winter I find my face becoming more dry and flaky in areas known as the T-zone (forehead, nose and chin) and so my skincare routine during Winter changes to help prevent the dryness of my face. Just a general skincare tip for everyone no matter what skin type you have try to stay away from bar soaps for the face. I have found that bar soaps cause more irritation and dryness on the face, so I no longer use bar soaps for my face routine.

My skincare routine mainly includes three products from the African Extracts Rooibos Purifying range. I have been using this brand for quite some time now and I cannot imagine myself using anything else for my skin. My skin has been at its happiest since I discovered this South African beauty brand. The products are gentle on the face and contain some of the best vitamins and natural extracts, leaving it feeling fresh and smooth instantly.

Face wash –  For my morning and evening face routine I use the African Extracts Rooibos 3-in-1 wash, scrub and mask. It is the perfect product to invest in for your skin with the product performing more than one function being a face wash, exfoliating mask or a gentle face scrub.

Toner Besides this toner being magical and all, it also has one of the most pleasant scents ever. I usually try use my toner at least once a day, five times a week but sometimes life happens. When I do use my toner I tend to pay extra attention to the forehead, nose and chin as these are the oily areas of my face and the toner helps to reduce the shine and oil.

Moisturiser – The moisturiser is a very gentle and hydrating product for the face. During the Winter time I like to mix my face moisturiser with coconut oil to add extra moisture on my face preventing it from looking dry and ashy. For my body I use Nivea’s Intensive Moisturising body lotion and I add 10 drops of my BodyShop Shimmering dry oil to the lotion. It makes my skin feel much more moisturised and smooth.

Tips – During Winter try to mix your body and face moisturiser with some oils such as Coconut Oil or Olive Oil to keep the skin hydrated. Also, don’t forget to exfoliate your face and body as often as you can to keep the skin smooth, removing all the dead cells.

Now that I shared my skincare Winter routine and some tricks, I thought it would be great to get other expertise and opinions on how to take care of your skin from some wonderful bloggers. So I have asked some lovely ladies to tell us their tricks and must-have Winter products.

With a minimalist blog and Instagram feed to match the vibe, South African beauty blogger and new vlogger Meza Mtshali shares her love for Neutrogena products and the importance of staying hydrated all year long. To keep up to date with Meza’s beauty blog and get some amazing beauty reviews on some of the best makeup and beauty products follow her blog: www.evenlenzara.wordpress.com

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 02.08.13

Pictures taken from Meza Mtshali’s Instagram. (@evenlenzara)

What are your favourite skincare Winter products? Why are these your favourite products?

My favourite skincare would be Neutrogena products I use these products all year round that’s the reason why I love them so much. I really don’t need to change my skin care routine when Winter comes along.

What product/s do you never leave home without during the Winter season?

My bag is always full with makeup but there are two products I don’t leave home without. And it is the Avon hand cream, my hands tend to become ashy during Winter and Black Opal lip gloss which I am utility obsessed with.

A skincare product you would recommend for Winter days? And why?

This really depends on what type of skin you have. My advice is that try to listen to your skin when change of season comes. If your skin becomes super dry and flaky I recommend night oils and serums of course. If you have oily skin I don’t think you should try any oils on your face try a cleanser that is citrus based it might help you.

What is your favourite skincare range?

Neutrogena Visibly Even is my favourite for my face and for my body it’s the Coco butter vaseline.

Any Winter skincare tips that you can share with us?

Hydrate. Cooler temperatures trick your body into thinking that you don’t need to drink as much water because you’re not as thirsty or sweaty so your skin suffers.

Protect. Sunscreen is a must 365 days per year because here in South Africa we see the sun even in Winter.

Ifeoma Amadi is a Nigerian fashion blogger with the most chic and versatile style. I would recommend her blog for anyone wanting some of the most creative DIY fashion ideas and tips: www.whowhatfab.wordpress.com

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 02.03.24

Images taken from Ifeoma’s Instagram feed. (@thesvnflwr)

What are your favourite skincare Winter products? Why are these your favourite products?

I’m currently using the Neutrogena moisture wrap lotion and I love it. As much as the skin tends to get drier when it’s cold I still don’t like my skin to feel greasy and the formula helps to lock in the moisture without the greasy feel.

What product/s do you never leave home without during the Winter season?

A lip balm and my hand cream.

A skincare product you would recommend for Winter days? And why?

Eos lip balm because they are tested and trusted and on days when I forget my hand cream I use it on my hands too (don’t judge me).

What is your favourite skincare range?

I’m not really big on skincare, I’m really just getting a hang of it but I like Neutrogena products and other bloggers have given good reviews of various products from them.

Any Winter skincare tips that you can share with us?

Moisturising with oils like coconut oil before you sleep will have you waking up with a well nourished looking skin. 

The dynamic and stunning Tsakisani Mondlani, is a South African lifestyle blogger who gives off the most vibrant aura. She is a young individual who is overflowing with creativity and this can be seen on her blog: www.maryluck.wordpress.com

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 02.07.07

Images taken from Tsakisani’s Instagram feed. (@tsakisanimondlani)

What are your favourite skincare Winter products? Why are these your favourite products?

Justine Tissue Oil Range. Winter is a dry season, so it is the best way to nourish your skin whilst bringing warmth to it as well. Not only does it keep your skin warm, it also takes care of stretch marks, blemish etc. I absolutely love it. 

What product/s do you never leave home without during the Winter season?

Hand cream package by Sorbet, Vicks and Vaseline- I know it’s a common product but it is extremely essential. 

A skincare product you would recommend for Winter days? And why?

Day wear by Estée Lauder, perfect for makeup days. Keeps your skin protected the whole day. Through the cold weather- your makeup remains the same , as well as protected skin.

What is your favourite skincare range?

It has to be between Justine & Estée Lauder skin range (I can’t pick 🙈 .)

Any Winter skincare tips that you can share with us?

Before you go to bed, use perfectly clean by Estée Lauder, it removes all the nonsense that could have affected your skin throughout the day. 

I hope you’ve learned a thing or two about loving your face and skin all year long and maybe even about a new potential skincare product. Do feel free to share with me some of your favourite skincare products and Winter skincare tips.

all things nzurifinal1

7 thoughts on “Winter Skincare Routine And Tips

Leave a Reply

